The Initial Idea, sort of an Introduction to the Project

Considering the human life as an equation and there is an certain amount of energy and mass (and flow), my main goal is to point out the idea that whatever changes (exterior or interior) may happen , the total of the energy we possess in a lifetime stays in a constant amount. I have the intention to demonstrate this by recreating the 4  states that every individual goes through in their life in a single platform.
Although my starting point was a physics’s law :The conservation of mass &energy, my project is far from being a demonstration of these laws. The final work is planned to be a visual demonstration and research on my hypothesis.

I chose to limit the states to a certain number (4 at the time). This was a decision taken based on the fact that I want to have the time to work extensively on each state. Also the states I choose, repeate
themselves constantly through life, which means we go through them (although in different forms and under different circumstances) repeatedly as we live. When deciding on which stages to choose, I looked back on my life and asked many people around me from different ages, backgrounds,lifestyles:  “What affected them the most?”. I wrote most of them and kept notes. At the time I was doing this, one of the things I realized was that everyone (including me) focused on how they felt (or the details  such as the smell, sounds..etc) at the time rather than just telling the actual story. This is also another reason why I decided to use “certain states” and not different stories. Because, every state may contain many different stories or causes which may later lead up to that state.

”I told you the truth,” I say yet again, “Memory’s truth, because memory has its own special kind. It selects, eliminates, alters, exaggerates, minimizes, glorifies and vilifies also; but in the end it creates its own reality, its heterogenous but usually coherent version of events; and no sane person ever trusts anyone else’s version more than his own.” Salman Rushdie, Midnight’s Children, 1982

Leave a Reply

